The Maison de nos Aïeux, historical Centre of the Island of Orleans, offers, thanks to its exhibits, a glimpse of the past of this mythic island. It is the only place offering an extensive overview of the history of the island and of its inhabitants.
With this exhibition, Paule Laperrière wishes to sensitize the visitors to the preservation of the small patrimonies that are the outbuilduings. By recreating in the form of miniature reproduction fifteen of these secondary buildings, she wants to revalorize this heritage not often put forward and yet that testifies of a ancient expertise. re.
An exhibit to see from June 29 to October 9, 2017.
Who discovered the Island of Orleans? How many families settled here back in the New France period? How did our ancestors live? What distinguishes the six parishes of the island from one another? Let our guides tell you about the rich history of an extraordinary island.
The Island of Orleans has always been known for its abundance of local products and its expertise passed on from generation to generation. Learn about the history and the particularities of the agricultural expertise that modeled the traditions and the landscape of the island.
Go back to a time where the parishers had only one fear and idol : the priest of the parish. Open the doors on the mystical places that are the rectories. Be a bit voyeuristic and take a look at the room of priest Côté, priest of Sainte-Famille until 1951.
Information and reservation